IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics
Did you know? 🤔
Logged in users can get email notification of topic replies Log in or register (free).
Amazon Link Buy your stuff using this and it helps MVS!

1998 S70 T5M 240k the Road to Stage 0

Help, Advice and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's extremely popular car line -- Volvo's 1990s "bread and butter" cars -- powered by the ubiquitous and durable Volvo inline 5-cylinder engine.

1992 - 1997 850, 850 R, 850 T5-R, 850 T5, 850 GLT
1997 - 2000 S70, S70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70, V70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70-XC
1997 - 2004 C70

WhatAmIDoing
Year and Model: 1998 S70 T5M
Canada
WhatAmIDoing

1998 S70 T5M 240k the Road to Stage 0

Post by WhatAmIDoing » Sat Jul 30, 2016 4:02 pm

Hello all, this is my first time posting, so I hope I haven't broken any rules yet. I'm new to realm of auto-mechanics and Volvos, and this looked like the perfect forum for a newbie striving to be a DIY-er.

So I recently purchased a 1998 Volvo S70 T5 with the coveted 5-speed manual transmission and over 240,000 miles on the odometer (probably not the smartest idea). I bought it off a guy who was working on getting it to stage 0, but he no longer had the time to work on it. The most notable things he accomplished were: New T-belt, tensioners, and pulleys; new water pump; new PCV; new stainless steel exhaust (it's sweet); new front brake pads and rotors; new hoses and vacuum lines; new engine mounts; after market boost gauge installed; and lastly, the airbox has been replaced by a high flow cone filter.

The reason I bought it was: 1.) I needed a car. 2.) It was the cheapest thing I could find that still worked. 3.) After some research, it seemed like a good buy. 4.) I wanted to gain some practical mechanical knowledge buy buying a car that needed some work. 5.) I immediately fell in love with it on the test drive.