IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics Volvo modules repair and programming
Please use the MVS Amazon link when you buy anything at all! It helps this site. Thanks very much!

Get email notification of topic replies. Log in or register (free). Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

850R: Hard warm starts,fan issues, Coolant temp Sensor & more!

Help, Advice and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's extremely popular car line -- Volvo's 1990s "bread and butter" cars -- powered by the ubiquitous and durable Volvo inline 5-cylinder engine.

1992 - 1997 850, 850 R, 850 T5-R, 850 T5, 850 GLT
1997 - 2000 S70, S70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70, V70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70-XC
1997 - 2004 C70

bewinder
Year and Model: 1997 Volvo 850-R

850R: Hard warm starts,fan issues, Coolant temp Sensor & more!

Post by bewinder »

Hi everybody, big fan of the Volvo community and MVS. I've used the forum for years, but this is my first time posting for help... I am at a loss.

My Volvo is a 1997 850 R. Here are my CURRENT RELEVANT ISSUES:

1)Hard starts/won't start when warmed up - After getting the car up to temp, it cranks forever, tries to turn over, then keeps cranking. Eventually, after a dozen tries or more, it usually starts. When it does turn over, the idle goes to 2k for a few seconds, then comes back down and settles at about 850-1000.

2)Along with this, the cooling fan cycles very sporadically at both speeds and continues to run after the car is off (IAC motor buzzes after car is off, too.) Cooling fan relay is clicking and sounds functional.

3) I am getting the flashing arrow in the instrument cluster (the CEL code for the speed sensor comes on intermittently and isn't consistent with the flashing arrow). The speedometer works fine and the automatic transmission is shifting fine.

4) My current check engine codes from the OBD II reader are P0118, P1507, P1505. (while the arrow is still flashing)