IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics

Get email notification of topic replies. Log in or register (free). Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

850 Platinum Edition Wagon engine swap/ rebuild

Help, Advice and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's extremely popular car line -- Volvo's 1990s "bread and butter" cars -- powered by the ubiquitous and durable Volvo inline 5-cylinder engine.

1992 - 1997 850, 850 R, 850 T5-R, 850 T5, 850 GLT
1997 - 2000 S70, S70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70, V70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70-XC
1997 - 2004 C70

Kara503
Year and Model: 1996 850 Plat R-Swap

850 Platinum Edition Wagon engine swap/ rebuild

Post by Kara503 »

Hello all!

I apologise in advance for the long post. I have done a lot of searching around on the forums and cobbled together much of the info that has gotten me this far, but I'm at the point where I feel like I need to ask for some help. If you have any advice for me at all I would GREATLY appreciate it. :D

I'm new to MVS but have always been a Volvo fanboy- my first car was a Black- on Tan 1996 850 GLT Sedan. Loved it and cared for it until I ran it up the rear end of a CR-V. After some real life and a little bit of searching, I decided to give my dream car another try, and found a 96 850 Platinum Edition wagon with 300k miles and a snapped timing belt. For the same price as I have been quoted to rework the cylinder head alone, I have also picked up a 97 850 T5 sedan (With the same engine code, B5234T) with 140k miles with a bunch of mold that was unloved. I plant to make a keeper to last me until the wheels fall off out of the Platinum by replacing its engine with the one out of the T5.