IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics

Get email notification of topic replies. Log in or register (free). Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

1999 Volvo V70 (base) Quit for No Reason?

Help, Advice and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's extremely popular car line -- Volvo's 1990s "bread and butter" cars -- powered by the ubiquitous and durable Volvo inline 5-cylinder engine.

1992 - 1997 850, 850 R, 850 T5-R, 850 T5, 850 GLT
1997 - 2000 S70, S70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70, V70 AWD
1997 - 2000 V70-XC
1997 - 2004 C70

tripeldubbel
Year and Model: 1999 V70

1999 Volvo V70 (base) Quit for No Reason?

Post by tripeldubbel »

Hello Everyone,
I'm hoping someone with really good ears can figure this one out. I've been driving my 1999 Volvo V70 non-turbo for about 18 months, out of no where the engine just doesn't want to start. Here's a link to a video I took of it:

After doing some research on here I was hoping it would be a simple fix, like replacing the fuel pump relay or unplugging the MAF sensor, unfortunately none of those worked. As far as I can tell the fuel pump is turning on when I engage the key to position (ll), I tried to capture that sound in the video. But I'm not sure how long it should be running. I've heard one second and two seconds, mine is definitely running for only one second, so if it's supposed to be two full seconds maybe that is the issue. I've also read about immobilizer issues, but I wasn't sure if the car would turn over when the immobilizer is the issue.

Here's some info that might help with the background of the car.
- Miles: 115,423
- Accidents: None
- Regularly maintained: Yes
- Biggest issues: mostly stuff that ISN'T under the bonnet, haha. Trunk latch, passenger window button housing, driver window button housing, gear shift knob, 12V socket fuse, etc. (all replaced).
- Location it has lived in: California (0K-50K miles) and Michigan (50K-115K, came to Michigan around 2011). Always garaged.