when buying a used ETM what will work without a reprogram?

Do you have a failing Electronic Throttle Module? What steps to take if you do, plus the latest ETM news. Volvo 1999-2002 models only please.
Post Reply
User avatar
regent
Posts: 1258
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:34 pm
Year and Model: 2015 XC60 T5
Location: Under the Hood
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: when buying a used ETM what will work without a reprogra

Post by regent »

Then, if you don't like the fun of intake removal to do the PCV, you wouldn't buy a Bimmer either, what a pity! :lol:
Example of Precision: Measure with a Micrometer, mark it with Chalk, and then cut it with an Axe.
Disclaimer: We (very) seldom do that

2015 BMW 335i
2015 XC60 T5 Premier Plus
2002 S60 2.4 n/a - retired :(
1987 340 DL - retired :(

Cal1972
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 11:04 am
Year and Model: 2001 s80 t6
Location: Usa

Post by Cal1972 »

doublebug wrote:Supposed that you have DiCE.
I will give you my program that shares DiCE via internet.
You install new ETM but connect to the socket an old one.
Connecting DiCE to the car.
Plug to laptop. (Off course it should have internet connection)
Initiate connection to my server.
I will read firmware.
You connect new ETM to the socket.
I will save it's firmware too.
After that I will upload software from your old ETM.
You can check how car is working.
I can check using VIDA if there is any error codes stored and clear them.
So everything is doable.

If you decide that new ETM does not help I will restore it's firmware and you can return it back.

Just ensure that you have fully charged good battery before starting.
Hi Doublebug do you have the software to reprogram 2001 s80 t6 ETM? I bought a used one they say it needs to be reprogrammed thanks

doublebug
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 6:08 am
Year and Model: XC90 2007 D5
Location: Belarus
Been thanked: 5 times

Post by doublebug »

If you have and old one that worked properly in the past I can transfer software.
Or post your ECM software numbers and I will check my database.
If you have questions about Volvo firmware ask me. I may know an answer :)

lpl258
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:57 am
Year and Model: 2001 v70 xc awd
Location: VA

Post by lpl258 »

doublebug wrote: Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:03 pm Supposed that you have DiCE.
I will give you my program that shares DiCE via internet.
You install new ETM but connect to the socket an old one.
Connecting DiCE to the car.
Plug to laptop. (Off course it should have internet connection)
Initiate connection to my server.
I will read firmware.
You connect new ETM to the socket.
I will save it's firmware too.
After that I will upload software from your old ETM.
You can check how car is working.
I can check using VIDA if there is any error codes stored and clear them.
So everything is doable.

If you decide that new ETM does not help I will restore it's firmware and you can return it back.

Just ensure that you have fully charged good battery before starting.
Hello good sir, ive been lurking this thread for a few days reading and such. I have spent months trying to negotiate this ETM dilemma on a very tight budget. You are doing gods work because this I believe, is exactly what I need. Ive a dice unit shipping in and truly look forward to hearing from you. I don't know what time zone you are in, but ill awake in the middle of the night or such, so it is convenient for you, to perform exactly as you described.

Leo 1-757-529-1032
USA

steveneedsmoney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:43 pm
Year and Model: 2001 s60 2.4t
Location: Wyoming

Post by steveneedsmoney »

Is Necowafer or Doublebug still around? I sent a PM to each, it says the PMs are in my outbox but not sent?!?!?

steveneedsmoney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:43 pm
Year and Model: 2001 s60 2.4t
Location: Wyoming

Post by steveneedsmoney »

doublebug wrote: Mon May 09, 2016 3:44 am If you have and old one that worked properly in the past I can transfer software.
Or post your ECM software numbers and I will check my database.
Where do I get the ECM software numbers??

precopster
Posts: 7484
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:20 am
Year and Model: Lots
Location: Melbourne Australia
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 113 times

Post by precopster »

Read them with Vida/Dice in Network menu or get a handheld scanner that can do this.

BTW usually only an expensive garage scanner can do this apart from Vida/Dice
Current cars:2002 XC70, 2006 Ssangyong Rodius (Stavic), 2006 XC90 2.5T, VW Transporter 2.5TDI

www.precisioncarmodules.com.

rodkenney
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:46 pm
Year and Model: Volvo 1999 V70R
Location: Calif

Post by rodkenney »

steveneedsmoney wrote: Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:00 pm Is Necowafer or Doublebug still around? I sent a PM to each, it says the PMs are in my outbox but not sent?!?!?
Have you gotten a response yet?

steveneedsmoney
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:43 pm
Year and Model: 2001 s60 2.4t
Location: Wyoming

Post by steveneedsmoney »

Ya I did!!!

robbiewilso
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:57 am
Year and Model: V70 2000 XC SE
Location: South Carolina
Has thanked: 2 times

Post by robbiewilso »

So I had an original ETM with over 100k miles and the ETS light started coming on intermittently. I bought a used one for my V70 that was already rebuilt with a magnetic sensor xemodex retrofit. When I switched it the light has not come on again and there were no symptoms of ETM failure (idle surge etc) Ran great for a month or so. NOW I have P1238 code come on and poor running with the MAF plugged up or unplugged- Idle is horrible and of course I get a MAF P0102 code when the MAF is unplugged. I think there is a bad vacuum leak that I cannot find yet; planning on doing a smoke test this weekend. Any advice from VolvoLand? Thanks!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post