IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics

Get email notification of topic replies. Log in or register (free). Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

Any Suggestions on Changing Timing Belt V50 Topic is solved

Help, Advice, Owners' Discussion and DIY Tutorials devoted to the second generation C70, S40 and V50 Volvos -- awkwardly model year 2004 ½ onwards -- plus where to go for advice and discussion on Volvo's sporty C30 Coupe powered by Volvo's ubiquitous inline 5-cylinder power plant.
kevins s70
Year and Model: 2007 XC70

Any Suggestions on Changing Timing Belt V50

Post by kevins s70 »

Hello - I am new to the V50 - just bought a 2005 a few weeks back. I had a S70 and did the timing belt on that a few times. I don't think the timing belt has been changed on the V50 and just looking for suggestions on how to do it. My initial look is that that motor mount needs to come off for access. I didn't see any write up for the V50 but am thinking the engine mounting and layout is the same as an S40? This is a none turbo
MadeInJapan
MVS Moderator
Year and Model: '98 S70 T5 '07S40T5

Re: Any Suggestions on Changing Timing Belt V50

Post by MadeInJapan »

I have changed the TB on an 850 and my S70 a few times. This is a different beast. Best you get acclimated on the difference before you tear into it.
Here are a few threads from S.S. that should help. My suggestion is to read both thoroughly!
http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?167605
http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?180023
Frankly, the S40/V50 TB change scares me a bit....
Let us know how things turn out. Some pics and a write up would be greatly appreciated by MVS!!
-MIJ

P.S. Btw, the TB change on our cars is at 120K but to be honest, I wouldn't wait that long. I've heard of issues way before that and if you're anywhere near or over 100K miles, we're talking about an 11 year old car so mileage really doesn't matter- I'd change it yesterday!!