IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics
Did you know? 🤔
Logged in users can get email notification of topic replies Log in or register (free).
Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

Need To Re-Install VIDA, But no CD-Drive!

How to buy, install and use VIDA, VADIS, DiCE, VMWare and all the questions and answers that come with these tools.
packetfire
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:21 am
Year and Model: 2004 v70 2.4
Location: Manhattan, NYC, NY, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
United States of America
packetfire

Need To Re-Install VIDA, But no CD-Drive!

Post by packetfire » Thu May 14, 2020 6:10 am

Many moons ago, I bought a VIDA Dice from China for my V70.

All has been well, until the old Lenovo S10-2 running XP that I used for VIDA died.
It ran Vida-2012.

My new laptop is a Windows 8.1 machine (yes, I am a Windows 10 Refusenik, but I do wear all required Biohazard Level 4 gear when venturing out to the market)

I find that the linked packages do not install - the "2014D Direct Installer.7z" dies, and the 2nd file of the set uploaded to "Mega" simply does not exist.

There was a Vmware package that I installed and played with, but I removed it on the grounds that I had a nice transflective display on the S10-2, so it was more useful in daylight.

The CD/DVD drive that works on Win XP does not work on my Win 8.1 laptop at all, so, while I have a disk, I need a downloadable version. Can anyone help an old guy to Vida his Volvo?
1982 240DL: Drove it 32 years and 1.5 million miles (sold, even still had mint leather!)
2001 v70 2.4T: The most expensive $1500 car I ever bought ("Volvo Turbo" - what an oxymoron!) (sold)
2004 v70: Current, far less fatally-flawed v70

packetfire
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:21 am
Year and Model: 2004 v70 2.4
Location: Manhattan, NYC, NY, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
United States of America
packetfire

Re: Need To Re-Install VIDA, But no CD-Drive!

Post by packetfire » Thu May 14, 2020 7:01 am

"2014D Direct Installer" fails when run in Win 7 Compatibility mode on a Win 8 machine with the error shown in the image file below.
Attachments
vida_install_error.JPG
vida_install_error.JPG (24.81 KiB) Viewed 374 times
1982 240DL: Drove it 32 years and 1.5 million miles (sold, even still had mint leather!)
2001 v70 2.4T: The most expensive $1500 car I ever bought ("Volvo Turbo" - what an oxymoron!) (sold)
2004 v70: Current, far less fatally-flawed v70

packetfire
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:21 am
Year and Model: 2004 v70 2.4
Location: Manhattan, NYC, NY, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
United States of America
packetfire

Re: Need To Re-Install VIDA, But no CD-Drive!

Post by packetfire » Wed May 20, 2020 8:28 pm

The download of an image that included both the VIDA and the environment required to run under VMWARE was the solution here.
1982 240DL: Drove it 32 years and 1.5 million miles (sold, even still had mint leather!)
2001 v70 2.4T: The most expensive $1500 car I ever bought ("Volvo Turbo" - what an oxymoron!) (sold)
2004 v70: Current, far less fatally-flawed v70

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post