Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59 Topic is solved

How to buy, install and use VIDA, VADIS, DiCE, VMWare and all the questions and answers that come with these tools.
Post Reply
User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker »

On windows 10
1. Manually install .net framework 3.5.
2. Run scripts 1- 3, in the root directory of VIDA2014D_RePack.iso, one at a time.
3. Run the 2099 patch
4. Run Script 4
. Do not run Script 5
5. Reboot
6. Wait for Java to request a firewall exception.
7. Wait for Vida monitor to turn green.

If DiCE does not work correctly. Run DiCE setup in :\3PP\Products\DiCE\

Clean up: Uninstall Russian language Adobe reader and install English language Adobe reader.

Password: admin or 1 - 4 for specific Partner groups.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD. Yamaha V8 conversion
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.

User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1552
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 81 times

Post by mrbrian200 »

I'll see if I can get it to go on 10 home - but will have to wait a week or two. Rural DSL isn't good for huge downloads - the version with EWD would plug up my internet connection for a week or more. I'll be in Chicago for the first half of March where I'll have access to residential high speed cable.

With the newer OS and not wanting to risk messing my OS activation, which I might imagine could be a can of worms on an upgraded machine, I will definitely want to save a system backup disk image to an attached HDD just in case I need it. And check that activation status is ok before I restore the internet connection post software install/reboot.

If the installer on the repack version is written or locked to Russian, I might still have a problem lacking multi language support of the pro OS version. On the win7 home install both the installer and OS were set to US English.
Last edited by mrbrian200 on Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Post by RickHaleParker »

The RePack is 6GB, EWD not included.
Install EWD separately from the your other 2014D distro after the RePack install.

With the newer OS and not wanting to risk messing my OS activation, which I might imagine could be a can of worms on an upgraded machine,
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD. Yamaha V8 conversion
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Post by RickHaleParker »

With the newer OS and not wanting to risk messing my OS activation, which I might imagine could be a can of worms on an upgraded machine,

It is not a can of worms. You can do a hard drive wipe, Install Windows 10 from scratch and active it by presenting your Microsoft account credentials. The Windows 10 digital license is tied to the hardware. I have wiped my Windows 10 installs and did a fresh install without any problems. They are all upgrades from Windows 7.
Last edited by RickHaleParker on Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD. Yamaha V8 conversion
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.

User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1552
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 81 times

Post by mrbrian200 »

RickHaleParker wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:09 pm With the newer OS and not wanting to risk messing my OS activation, which I might imagine could be a can of worms on an upgraded machine,

It not a can of worms. You can do a hard drive wipe, Install Windows 10 from scratch and active it by presenting your Microsoft account credentials. The Windows 10 digital license is tied to the hardware. I have wiped my Windows 10 installs and did a fresh install without any problems. They are all upgrades from Windows 7.
Ahh, that's right. To date haven't needed to wipe an upgraded win10 machine and start over. I've read up on it some time ago, I know the upgrade is locked to the BIOS serial. I forgot the part where logging in with your MS credentials should validate a clean reinstall in every case.

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Post by RickHaleParker »

Do yourself a favor. Download and install Belarc Advisor. Do a complete profile of your system and print it off. That way your have a record of the hardware profile and License keys.

One of my Workstations has the Intel(R) 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Family, which needs the drivers installed manually after a fresh Windows 10 install. The first time I did a fresh W10 install, I had a hell of a time figuring out why it ran like molasses. Manually installed the chipset drivers and it flies like an eagle.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD. Yamaha V8 conversion
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.

User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1552
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 81 times

Post by mrbrian200 »

OS bundled software sometimes is 'generic' that isn't optimized for a particular hardware implementation. I manually check and grab software and drivers direct from vendors after an OS install as standard practice before I unleash the machine on myself or others. Belarc looks useful. However, I'm wary of "free" programs originating from profit driven software companies. With rare exception there's usually a catch buried somewhere in the TOS...What is it with this particular software vendor?
Belarc might be one of those exceptions. I'll look into it.

I tend to err on the cautious side. There was a case where I refrained from updating to W10 for a full year after release on a client's critical server/workstation. I put the machine together, had been running 8.1 Pro 24/7 for 18 months with zero issues. I preferred them not to be MS or Intel guinea pigs on a board that in more cases would be running a server OS as opposed to desktop (C226 Intel s1200rp/xeon ECC). If that machine doesn't run flawless 24/7 it throws a wrench into their whole operation. I silenced the Windows 10 upgrade nag so her staff would quit asking me about it. Being way overpowered for a relatively small SQL DB it handles + a mere 3 light access local sql clients in a small business without deep pockets it was designed to pull double duty at the front desk for spreadsheets, data entry, and client sign in/signature pad.

As far as the laptop, what scares me isn't troubleshooting/restoring MS software packages or hardware drivers etc. Its potentially re-downloading huge massive games from steam, uplay, GOG etc if something gets super wonked that I can't figure out. If I can figure out missing/corrupt/crashing powershell components (MS says reinstall the OS) I can probably get past anything a potentially wonked vida install might do. But if not, a fresh install in my book amounts to an exercise in carelessness. Re-imaging the disc from a backup is option #1.

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Post by RickHaleParker »

Image the system, if all goes wonky and requires a recovery from the image, try a fresh install first. If it does not work out you can always go back to the image.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD. Yamaha V8 conversion
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.

ykt3pg3
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:38 pm
Year and Model: 850-t5
Location: MALAYSIA
Has thanked: 1 time

Post by ykt3pg3 »

Hi RickHaleParker,
I just signed up to say THANK YOU for your patch.
I installed the 2014-D Vida last year, was working well and then it just couldn't go pass the login page recently.
Tried alot of repatching using the given DVD and as we all know, nothing goes.

So this morning I downloaded your patch and put it to work.
Voila....... back in business :D :D :D :)

Again a BIG thank you for your efforts

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 5210
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Post by RickHaleParker »

Mr Brain we might be over thinking this. How about create a Windows Restore point, try the install, if it does not work use the Restore point to get back to the state before the experment.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD. Yamaha V8 conversion
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post