IPD sale Volvo Parts

Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59 Topic is solved

How to buy, install and use VIDA, VADIS, DiCE, VMWare and all the questions and answers that come with these tools.
Post Reply
User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1315
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 59 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by mrbrian200 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:43 pm

RickHaleParker wrote:
Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:50 pm
In Chrome I can get that to resize with [Ctrl] + ([-] or [+]) at a screen resolution of 1920 X 1080.
If I see that on my screen, [Ctrl] + [+] would fix it.
That's different yet. What you demonstrated on your machine in chrome also wasn't resizing the frame/element that I had highlighted in yellow, but cropping it. On mine it doesn't crop. It's all visible at different browser zoom or display resolutions under chrome, but the size on screen stays the same (too small). In IE at 1280x720 I get this (below) which is easily manipulated on a 15" touch display without a digitizer pen which this display doesn't support.
It's also very close to how it looks under windows 7/IE9 on that older laptop at it's native res that's 1280x800.
IE1280x720.JPG
Display drivers.. gotta be. I wouldn't expect Intel, AMD, Microsoft, Google, or Volvo to open a case to fix display size/rendering issues for older hacked software. Not gonna happen LOL.

At issue seems to be the 'isoview' application/plugin which from what I can tell is responsible for generating everything below the tabs (start - vehicle profile - information - ...)

RayBarboniFromMiami
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:40 am
Year and Model: V70 2006
Location: London
Has thanked: 1 time
Poland

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RayBarboniFromMiami » Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:45 am

precopster wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:41 pm
And attached are 2012B and 2013A patch files with modified date strings to 2047....hopefully by then we'll all be driving air-borne cars :D

When using just make sure they output to c:/
Precopster .

I registered just to say thank you for patch 2012B ..

Good bless you all good people

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 164 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:16 am

At issue seems to be the 'isoview' application/plugin which from what I can tell is responsible for generating everything below the tabs (start - vehicle profile - information - ...)

Mr Brain, I cannot fully test the diagnostics section because both of my cars are pre-99. However I have discovered one can upgrade IsoView from version 4.x to version 7.3 and it works in Vida. You might try upgrading to v7.3 and see if it makes a difference.

It might be that the older IsoView does not support the higher screen resolutions. On the other hand it might be the graphics files resolution.

You can always go back to v4.x by uninstalling v7.3 and reinstalling v4.x from the Repack. I already tried installing 4.x from the RePack, used Volvo for the name and Volvo for the company, no problems.

1. Arbortext IsoView 7.3 download.
2. Uninstall IsoView 4 via the control panel.
3. Install IsoView 7.3.
4. Reboot
5. Login into Vida and check it out.
1997 S90, B6304S, AW30-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4
1998 C70, B5234T3, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4
2003 S40, B4204T3, AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.

User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1315
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 59 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by mrbrian200 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:35 am

With 7.3 its acts like you demonstrated where it crops the frame, but still works/displays proper at the lower screen res. Vida does, however, load faster with 7.3 installed. With 4.x there was a 4 or 5 second delay while isoview loaded. With 7.3 once the green progress bar at the login screen finishes, it flips to the define vehicle page and it's ready to use without the delay.

Edit: Hmm. I think this might be a java issue. Not specifically a bug, but how they defined the jframe size in a config somewhere. We might be able to solve this. Any java developers floating around the forum? I'll try googling to see if I can come up with a solution.

Second Edit: From what I see java is set to run on a low spec machine by todays standards with memory use capped at 256m. I upped it to 1024m and vida logs in a hell of a lot faster and is more responsive once you're in. There's a maxpermsize also defined in the .bat files that appears to be interrelated I changed that from 256m to 512m. I don't fully understand what I'm playing with. Should I start seeing memory error warnings when using vida I'll change them back.

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 164 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:07 pm

Any java developers floating around the forum?

It would not hurt if somebody figured out now to upgrade the Jboss AS7 to WildFly 11.
The jdk java version is 1.7.0. I think the lasted version is 9.0.4.
1997 S90, B6304S, AW30-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4
1998 C70, B5234T3, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4
2003 S40, B4204T3, AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.

Sardine
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:02 pm
Year and Model: V70 2.5T 2004, S60 2
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Australia

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by Sardine » Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:51 pm

For those who use a Vida virtual machine posted here a couple of years ago, the 2012B patch by precopster » 10 Jan 2018, 08:41 works. Thanks precopster. Now I can try to figure out why my 2005 V50 jerks on 2 to 1 down shift when the car gets hot.

EdenDave
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:54 am
Year and Model: V70 2000
Location: Australia

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by EdenDave » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:17 am

G'day to all and especially to Rick Hale Parker,
To-day I had a problem with the emission light on my 2000 P2 V70, I thought that a quick diagnosis with my Vida Dice would reveal all, as it usually does. However for some unknown reason it kept failing at the "Log On." I won't bother you with how I spent the next nerve and brain wracking hours, and yes of course it had reached an expiry date as I was to discover. Any way Rick your entry and file in this Topic dated Feb 12th proved to be a God sent gift that got me up and running again, and I could not possibly sleep tonight unless I contacted you just to say "My sincere thanks." Having been resident in this body since 36 I doubt I will need to extend the Dice's expiry date again. Well Done Buddy.

User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1315
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 59 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by mrbrian200 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:01 pm

It's still touchy under win10 about OS/system updates. Reinstalling Vida brings it back though.
System java updated itself. Resulted in a Vida never turns green situation. I doubt the java package that VIDA uses (in the Vida folder) gets touched, it's probably some registry entrie(s) that get modified.

User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 164 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:49 am

System java updated itself. Resulted in a Vida never turns green situation.

A lot of the time it is something grabbing control of local port 80.

To find out what is on port 80, open a command line shell. Type "Netstat -ano", scroll and find local address 127.0.0.1:80, take note if the PID for 127.0.0.1:80. Go to task manager and look up the PID, it should be Java. If it is not Java, you need to deal with what is on port 80.
1997 S90, B6304S, AW30-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4
1998 C70, B5234T3, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4
2003 S40, B4204T3, AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.

User avatar
mrbrian200
Posts: 1315
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Year and Model: 2006 S60 2.5T FWD
Location: Northern Indiana/Chicago
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 59 times
United States of America

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by mrbrian200 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:05 pm

RickHaleParker wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:49 am
System java updated itself. Resulted in a Vida never turns green situation.

A lot of the time it is something grabbing control of local port 80.

To find out what is on port 80, open a command line shell. Type "Netstat -ano", scroll and find local address 127.0.0.1:80, take note if the PID for 127.0.0.1:80. Go to task manager and look up the PID, it should be Java. If it is not Java, you need to deal with what is on port 80.
I'll remember that for next time. Thank you.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests