IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics Volvo modules repair and programming
Please use the MVS Amazon link when you buy anything at all! It helps this site. Thanks very much!

Get email notification of topic replies. Log in or register (free). Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

Burnt Valves, had to drive it home, DEAD car.

Help, Advice, Owners' Discussion and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's stylish, distinctive "P2" platform cars.

2001 - 2007 V70
2004 - 2007 V70 R
2001 - 2007 XC-70
2001 - 2009 S60
2003 - 2007 S60 R

lizardheart
Year and Model: V70 2003 230k

Burnt Valves, had to drive it home, DEAD car.

Post by lizardheart »

2003 Volvo V70 2.4T 249k

I've had this car for almost 10 years, bought it in 2007 with 45k on it for $16k, drove the PISS out of it for all these years (currently 249k), wonderful musician's car (I'm a musician, drrr), then on the way from one gig to another a few months ago, very suddenly it began missing horribly and lost most of it's power, about 10 miles from the gig.....

So I limped it to the gig....afterwards, it was late on a Sunday night and I HAD to get my daughter from the babysitter and get the car home, (roughly 90 miles, separate discussion could be had about the realities of being a working musician in the LA area), so I drove it back and got her home etc....it missing viciously the whole way, no power, I'm sure that helped ABSOLUTELY NOTHING inside the engine, and I own that.

Had it towed to the service place I've been using next day, where they did their diagnosis that several valves were blown, and that there was almost NO compression in most of the cylinders, which they basically said was because the head/valves was/were shot.