IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics Free shipping all USA - Experts in Brakes
Did you know? 🤔
Logged in users can get email notification of topic replies Log in or register (free).
Amazon Link Buy your stuff using this and it helps MVS!

Clunk and Creak from Front End

Help, Advice, Owners' Discussion and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's stylish, distinctive "P2" platform cars.

2001 - 2007 V70
2004 - 2007 V70 R
2001 - 2007 XC-70
2001 - 2009 S60
2003 - 2007 S60 R

estrekal
Year and Model: 2004 S60 AWD
Been thanked: 0
United States of America
estrekal

Clunk and Creak from Front End

Post by estrekal » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:16 am

Hello all,
I'm new to the S60 forum, but have been driving a Volvo (2000 V70 non-turbo. I recently purchased a one-owner 2004 S60 2.5T AWD that came in as a trade to the local Mercedes Benz dealer. My car currently has about 108,500 miles and looks like it has been serviced regularly by the local Volvo dealership. When I got it, the Benz dealership showed me that they inspected the car thoroughly and changed the brakes on all four wheels. Everything else appeared to be "okay." That seems to be true for the most part--I did do my plugs and air filter recently just as a preliminary precaution and to save money when I take it in for its next service at the dealership (I got coupons for the dealership after joining the Volvo Heritage Club).

Anyway, enough about that. In the dealer inspection report I didn't see any mention of anything on the front end being bad, however, I can tell something is a miss when driving the car around town. Almost every time I go over a speed hump I hear a creak from my front driver's side. I don't feel anything, just hear it. It just sort of sounds like a groan. I don't get it if I run over a pothole or manhole in the road though, it is generally on the humps or going through a dip straight on.