DTC Errors on 03 V70 T5 - ABS/DSTC issues? Topic is solved

Help, Advice, Owners' Discussion and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's stylish, distinctive P2 platform cars sold as model years 2001-2007 (North American market year designations).

2001 - 2007 V70
2001 - 2004 V70 XC (Cross Country)
2004 - 2007 XC70 (Cross Country)
2001 - 2009 S60
2003 - 2007 S60 R
2004 - 2007 V70 R

Botbasher
Year and Model: 98 "R" & 03 T5 V70

DTC Errors on 03 V70 T5 - ABS/DSTC issues?

Post by Botbasher »

Howdy All!

I have been scanning the forums about the particular errors I am trying to chase down, but I didn't want to resurrect old or hijack others thread, so I figured I'd start my own.

I picked up an 03 v70 T5 a week ago and am trying to chase down a couple of DTCs. I am new to the Volvo CAN-BUS system, but get the idea via my years with VW. I'm just looking for a bit of guidance in making sure I am following the right breadcrumbs! When I got the car, a friend came over and we hooked up his VIDA/DICE and pulled a slew (4 pages) of codes. Everything from Seat Temp Failure to ABS. We reset it and it popped up 5 new ones... but some big ones, but at least it was more manageable!

As read from VIDA they are:

CEM-1A5F Communication with BCM control module Signal missing
ECM-510F Vehicle speed signal (VSS) - Signal Missing
ECM-9400 Brake pedal sensor - Signal missing
PHM-000C Handset hook Signal Missing
UEM-0004 Siren Communication Fault

From my OBD-II reader I get:

P0571 - Brake switch A circuit malfunction
P0504 - Brake switch A Brake switch B Correlation

On the dash I have lit: ABS - BRAKE - DSTC - Red ! - "Brake Failure Stop Safely"

Other symptoms: Odometer & Cruise Control don't work. DTSC button is lit constantly.

What I found and corrected(ing):

Front brake pads were completely worn - Replaced (Rears are good)