IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics
Did you know? 🤔
Logged in users can get email notification of topic replies Log in or register (free).
Amazon Link Buy your stuff using this and it helps MVS!

Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59 Topic is solved

How to buy, install and use VIDA, VADIS, DiCE, VMWare and all the questions and answers that come with these tools.
User avatar
bmdubya1198
Posts: 3158
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:45 am
Year and Model: '98 V70 GLT
Location: Charlotte, NC
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 89 times
United States of America
bmdubya1198

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by bmdubya1198 » Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:13 pm

I uninstalled SQL and went back through the installation, and now I'm up and running. Thanks for the tip!

Now hopefully it continues to work!


2000 V70R Venetian Red/Charcoal M56 Swapped 190k
2001 S60 2.4T Black/Black 230k
2003 S60 2.4T Silver/Black 107k
2007 XC90 V8 AWD Sport Titanium Grey/Black 158k
1993 944 Base Beige/Beige :mrgreen: 221k
1992 Miata Mariner Blue/Black 146k
Sold-
1998 V70 GLT Black/Beige 193k
1998 S90- Silver/Gray 207k
1995 850 GLT Tropic Green... crushed
1988 744 Turbo M46 Beige Metallic/Beige 188k- Never should have sold it


Need used parts? PM me!

Jonboy74
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:17 pm
Year and Model: V70 2.4T, 2002
Location: USA - North Carolina
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 2 times
United States of America
Jonboy74

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by Jonboy74 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 9:01 am

RickHaleParker wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:21 am
On windows 10
1. Manually install .net framework 3.5.
2. Run scripts 1- 3, in the root directory of VIDA2014D_RePack.iso, one at a time.
3. Run the 2099 patch
4. Run Script 4
. Do not run Script 5
5. Reboot
6. Wait for Java to request a firewall exception.
7. Wait for Vida monitor to turn green.

If DiCE does not work correctly. Run DiCE setup in :\3PP\Products\DiCE\

Clean up: Uninstall Russian language Adobe reader and install English language Adobe reader.

Password: admin or 1 - 4 for specific Partner groups.
HI Rick - I just ran through this and it went beautifully, however there is one step I suggest you add for Windows 10 Pro. I kept getting an error about port 80 being in use. For some reason the "World Wide Web Publishing Service" was enabled. This laptop was my son's and it was heavily restricted, so I'm not sure why WWWPS was enabled.

The easiest way to disable it is by launching MSCONFIG (yes, it still exists in Win 10), click on the "Services" tab, sort by service name, scroll down to "World Wide Web Publishing Service" and then uncheck the check box, and then click on "OK". I did that, rebooted, and then everything worked flawlessly.

Thanks!

Jonboy



Taskmaster
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:13 am
Year and Model: 2006 XC70
Location: Boston, MA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
United States of America
Taskmaster

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by Taskmaster » Mon Jul 29, 2019 5:54 pm

Are there current good links to the software - edit, got the torrent, thx.

I have a Dice unit but lost the laptop I had the software installed to in a house fire. I tried to use a Virtualbox image I found from my Win 10 laptop but I'm not having success reading vehicle info or using the Dice "Test Communication Tool". I see the Dice tool and enable it for the Virtualbox but no go. On the Virtualbox machine Device Manager I see the Dice tool with an error the driver cannot start. Does the driver need to be installed on the host machine?

Does the host version of DOTNET matter with a Virtualbox image because I am on 4.0.30319.



b3nb123
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:58 am
Year and Model: 2010 XC90
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Great Britain
b3nb123

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by b3nb123 » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:16 am

I've had my Vida for ages, and as most people it seems struggled to get it working!!
Now I need to get it up and running so I'm trying again, this thing is sapping hours of my time!!

I'm running it on a virtual machine, Windows 7 ultimate, IE8. I had to add http://localhost to my safe sites list (also disabled the protection) and now get the login screen. But that's just it - a login screen?
I've tried running the patch on page 1 of this thread, but get an error 'tskill.exe isn't a valid command' or somethign similar. then the installation seems to continue, but with no notification that it ever completed.

Any help? I'm assuming I don't need to register with Volvo to log in?!?

Any help appreciated, I'm finally getting close after a very long time!



User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 2863
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 317 times
United States of America
RickHaleParker

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:14 pm

1. Are you running the patch in the virtual machine and not the host OS?
2. Ignore 'tskill.exe isn't a valid command', it is an artifact from the Windows XP era, the patch still works.
3 If you install 2014D_RePack you you don't need a virtual machine, install it native in windows 10, 8 or 7.
4. If you install it native in Windows 7, do the Chrome conversion. Then it will work with IE11 and .net framework 4.X installed. You will still need .net framework 3.5 installed.
These users thanked the author RickHaleParker for the post:
b3nb123


Platform: P80 1998 C70, B5234T3, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package, Plant: Uddevalla Sweden.

Platform: X40 (Nedcar) 2003 S40, B4204T3, AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000. Plant: Born Netherlands.

Platform P2 2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0, Plant Torslanda Sweden.
----------------------------------------------------------------
1997 S90, B6304S, AW30-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4 - Sold

b3nb123
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:58 am
Year and Model: 2010 XC90
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Great Britain
b3nb123

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by b3nb123 » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:06 am

Amazing! (And somewhat annoying that I spent so much time getting a virtual pc working!!)

Could someone point me in the direction of the 2014D_RePack download?



User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 2863
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 317 times
United States of America
RickHaleParker

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:04 pm

b3nb123 wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:06 am
Could someone point me in the direction of the 2014D_RePack download?
Page 16 for links.

Alternative: Manually add the torrent link to qBittorrent.

Copy the magnet link in line below to your clipboard.
magnet:?xt=urn:btih:1b2995ac6b8926893e3dea41c01ce92208b19c8d

In qBitorrent go to File on the menu then select Add Torrent link.
In the box start a new line and paste the magnet link from the clipboard.
Click download.

Similar procedures for other bittorrent clients.


Platform: P80 1998 C70, B5234T3, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package, Plant: Uddevalla Sweden.

Platform: X40 (Nedcar) 2003 S40, B4204T3, AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000. Plant: Born Netherlands.

Platform P2 2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0, Plant Torslanda Sweden.
----------------------------------------------------------------
1997 S90, B6304S, AW30-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4 - Sold

JoseBQ
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:46 am
Year and Model: 2009 XC60
Location: Madrid
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Spain
JoseBQ

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by JoseBQ » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:26 am

Need again some help.

I have VIDA2014 working through Chrome, but recently DICE isn't working anymore.

What do you think that happened?

Why I was able to run VIDA with DICE before but I can't anymore?



JoseBQ
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:46 am
Year and Model: 2009 XC60
Location: Madrid
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Spain
JoseBQ

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by JoseBQ » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:27 am

JoseBQ wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:26 am
Need again some help.

I have VIDA2014 working through Chrome, but recently DICE isn't working anymore.

What do you think that happened?

Why I was able to run VIDA with DICE before but I can't anymore?

By the way, when running DICE test, I get an interface test failure.



User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 2863
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 317 times
United States of America
RickHaleParker

Re: Vida 2014D Times out 12/31/2017 23:59

Post by RickHaleParker » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:16 pm

JoseBQ wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:27 am
By the way, when running DICE test, I get an interface test failure.
Be more specific, what failed ?
Did you use the standalone DiCE diagnostics or the DiCE diagnostics in VIDA?


Platform: P80 1998 C70, B5234T3, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package, Plant: Uddevalla Sweden.

Platform: X40 (Nedcar) 2003 S40, B4204T3, AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000. Plant: Born Netherlands.

Platform P2 2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0, Plant Torslanda Sweden.
----------------------------------------------------------------
1997 S90, B6304S, AW30-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4 - Sold

Post Reply