IPD sale XeMODeX - Experts in Volvo Electronics

Get email notification of topic replies. Log in or register (free). Amazon Link Buy anything with this and it helps MVS!

Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

How to buy, install and use VIDA, VADIS, DiCE, VMWare and all the questions and answers that come with these tools.
Post Reply
User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 4960
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 630 times

Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by RickHaleParker »

As many of you know Internet Explorer 11 and .Net Framework 4.5+ has compatibility issues with Vida and Dice in Windows 7.
Also you can no longer download Internet Explorer 9 from Microsoft.

My Solution is move Vida over to Google Chrome. By moving Vida over to Google Chrome, you can upgrade to Explorer 11. You can install .Net framework 4.5 and higher, then use the applications that require .Net framework 4.5 or higher. Totally does away with a lot of headaches.

I have tested this under Windows 7 Pro with Internet Explorer 11, .Net framework 3.5 and 4.7 installed. It runs without problems. Go ahead and update to Internet Explorer 11, install .Net Framework 4.5 - 4.7 If you like. Do keep .Net framework 3.5.


How to move Vida 2014D to Google Chrome.

Install Google Chrome Web Browser if it is not already installed.

Install the "IE Tab" Chrome extension.
1. Menu/More tools/extensions.
2. Scroll to bottom of page.
3. Get more extensions.
4. Search for "IE Tab"
5. Install.

Install Vida 2014D if it is not already installed.
After the reboot and the Vida monitor icon is green.
Start Chrome and enter http://localhost/Vida/ in the address bar.
At the end of the address bar there is an icon to open the address in IE tab mode, click it
Now look at the bottom, Chrome will be asking about a file named ietabhelper.exe, run the file.

You're going to see an address like this in the address bar.
chrome-extension://hehijbfgiekmjfkfjpbkbammjbdenadd/nhc.htm#url=http://localhost/Vida/
Copy the address to the clipboard.

Right click on the desktop and create a new text document, Name it whatever you want.
Open the new text document, paste the address into the text document.

Right click in the Chrome icon, under target your see a string like this
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
Copy it to the clipboard

Go back to the text file and paste to the front end of the address, with a space between, this will produce a line like this.
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" chrome-extension://hehijbfgiekmjfkfjpbkbammjbdenadd/nhc.htm#url=http://localhost/Vida/
How copy that entire line to the clipboard.

On the Desktop right click, create a new short cut.
Paste the string in the location, next
Name it Vida All-in-One Chrome.

Close Chrome.
Click on "Vida All-in-One Chrome" which you just created.
Login to Vida do whatever until you confirmed everything is working.

How that everything is working do a little clean up.


Right click on "Vida All-in-One Chrome", properties, change icon.
Browse to C:\Vida select Vida_Main then open, Click Ok.
Drag the original Vida All-in-One icon to the trash.
Drag the text file to the trash.


Enjoy.

Instructions in attached file for your convenience.
Attachments
Move Vida to Chrome.pdf
(39.18 KiB) Downloaded 1137 times
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD.
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.
User avatar
yoyon
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:51 pm
Year and Model: 89-740 96-850 04-XC9
Location: Jakarta Indonesia

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by yoyon »

thank you man, great info
-yoyon-

04 XC90 T6 AWD
96 854 GLT
89 744 GL
User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 4960
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 630 times

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by RickHaleParker »

Yoyon

How about some feedback.
  • What version of Windows are you using?
    What Version of Internet Explorer is installed on your machine?
    Do you have .Net Framework 4.5 - 4.7 installed?
    How is the Chrome conversion working out for you?
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD.
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.
User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 4960
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 630 times

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by RickHaleParker »

One little detail I missed in the instructions. You do need to keep Internet Explorer installed. IE Tab uses the just the IE rendering engine to render the pages and provide access to ActiveX. The IE rendering engine and ActiveX are not party to the conflicts. That is why this solution gets around the conflicts.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD.
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.
JoseBQ
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:46 am
Year and Model: 2009 XC60
Location: Madrid

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by JoseBQ »

I had VIDA not working in IE and after your advise it worked in chrome.

Now, my only issue, do you know how I can increase font size? (Control + doesn't work).

Thanks a lot.
User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 4960
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 630 times

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by RickHaleParker »

JoseBQ wrote: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:24 pm (Control + doesn't work).
It is [Ctrl] + [+] ... hold down the [Ctrl] key and tap on the [+] key in the top row.
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD.
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.
john493
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 2:53 pm
Year and Model: V70 D5, 2004
Location: Oxon

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by john493 »

Ive got vida installed on my W7 pro machine but since I installed .net 4.6.2 ( needed for Volvotech CFE+) I get the error VIDA monitor has stopped working and the vida icon in the system tray stays red.

Very interested to move VIDA to Chrome but do I need to get VIDA working again on IE8 first ?
User avatar
RickHaleParker
Posts: 4960
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:30 pm
Year and Model: See Signature below.
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 630 times

Re: Move Vida to Chrome to avoid conflicts

Post by RickHaleParker »

.net 4 is going to give Vida problems on a Windows 7 machine. The only solution I know on Windows 7 is to uninstall .net 4.

The chrome conversion works with IE9 installed.

Windows 10 + 2014D_RePack + .net 4, not a issue. Have you considered moving to Windows 10?

Are you using the 2014D_RePack?
1998 C70, B5234T3, 16T, AW50-42, Bosch Motronic 4.4, Special Edition package.
2003 S40, B4204T3, 14T twin scroll AW55-50/51SN, Siemens EMS 2000.
2004 S60R, B8444S TF80 AWD.
2005 XC90 T6 Executive, B6294T, 4T65 AWD, Bosch Motronic 7.0.
Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post