Welcome to the world's #1 Volvo forum!

Volvo Fixes & Advice since 2001.

Login Register

2005 S60 Daytime Running Lights Working?

Help, Advice, Owners' Discussion and DIY Tutorials on Volvo's stylish, distinctive P2 platform cars sold as model years 2001-2007 (North American market year designations).

2001 - 2007 V70
2001 - 2004 V70 XC (Cross Country)
2004 - 2007 XC70 (Cross Country)
2001 - 2009 S60
2003 - 2007 S60 R
2004 - 2007 V70 R

whistlebird
Year and Model: S60 2005

2005 S60 Daytime Running Lights Working?

Post by whistlebird »

I am a new owner and driver of an S60 2.5T FWD that I bought a month ago that I am enjoying immensely but there is quirk in the DRL that I need clarification or help.

When the lighting control is set a 0, and I turn on the ignition, the headlights come on along with the tail lights. The led for the Parking Lights is always lit.

When I turn the knob to the 12 o' clock position, the headlights turn on along with the tail lights at the same intensity as the 0 position. I asked my Volvo dealer from where I bought the car, and the service advisor told me that this is normal. I called other service departments at Volvo dealers, and they all told me the same, this is normal.

I have had America and Japanese cars, and the DRL all worked the same. When the system is activated, and the ignition is turned on, the low beam of the headlights come on at a brightness lower than usual. No tail lights are on. In some, there was a sensor that activated the lights when darkness appeared. Only when I manually turned on the headlights, did the tail lights come on as well.

That being said is there some design quirk in the S60 concerning DRL? The owners manual is not very clear or specific. I also noticed that the brightness of the headlights is the same in either dial position.